NSW and Australian Lifeguard of the Year, Mariah Jones has been named to compete alongside 12 highly skilled lifesavers as a member of the Australian Life Saving Team, set to contest the 2024 World Life Saving Championships on the Gold Coast from 20 August to 8 September.

It rounds out a banner year for the Australian Lifeguard Service (ALS) Lifeguard and Supervisor, who was first crowned the NSW Lifeguard of the Year at a lavish ceremony in the heart of Sydney in August 2023 before later taking out the national category at the SLSA Awards of Excellence in November.

She was also a part of the team who, in late November last year, helped Australia to win the 2023 German Cup.

Mariah was the overall second-best female competitor at the event, in Australia’s return to a lifesaving forum they have been unable to contest since 2019.

The World Championships is expected to bring more than 50 nations to Australia from across the world to compete in the national team and club competitions.

The team, which includes 2023/24 NutriGrain Ironwoman Champion, Lana Rogers and Aussies Open Board Champion, Zach Morris, to name a few, will be looking to defend the title they earned in 2022 in Riccione, Italy.

Australia became the first nation in history to claim both the Open and Youth Overall Pointscore, with the Open team picking up its second consecutive title at the time by a comprehensive margin over New Zealand.

Mariah was part of that team, too, and is eager to bring home another title for her country and represent the ALS with great skill and sportsmanship.


Open Female

Rachel Eddy – Currumbin SLSC

Britney Ingr – Kurrawa SLSC

Chelsea Jones – Currumbin SLSC

Mariah Jones – Tweed Heads & Coolangatta SLSC / Sunshine Coast Grammar Pool Lifesaving Club

Lana Rogers – Northcliffe SLSC

Naomi Scott – Northcliffe SLSC

RESERVES: Cyra Bender (Northcliffe), Tiarnee Massie (Maroochydore)

Open Male

Corey Fletcher – Burleigh Heads Mowbray Park SLSC

Harrison Hynes – Trigg Island SLSC / West Life Saving Club

James Koch – Burleigh Heads Mowbray Park SLSC

Jason Gough – Northcliffe SLSC

Zach Morris – Northcliffe SLSC

Jake Smith – Trigg Island SLSC / West Life Saving Club

RESERVES: Callum Brennan (Currumbin / Sunshine Coast Grammar Pool Lifesaving Club), Cooper Williams (Alexandra Headland)

Youth Female

Piper Asquith – Northcliffe SLSC

Mischa Boniface – Mollymook SLSC

Jemma Holt – Mordialloc LSC

Bianca Rayward – Burleigh Heads Mowbray Park SLSC

Jasmine Rayward – Burleigh Heads Mowbray Park SLSC

Lani Waller – Redhead SLSC

RESERVES: Olivia Clues (Newport), Kaitlin Rees (Swansea-Belmont SLSC)

Youth Male

Riley Brennan – Currumbin SLSC / Sunshine Coast Grammar Pool Lifesaving Club

Ethan Callaghan – Burleigh Heads Mowbray Park SLSC

Kai Gilbert – Northcliffe SLSC

Henry Simpson – Alexandra Headland SLSC

Kobe Sorensen – North Cronulla SLSC

Brayden Woodford – Bulli SLSC / Engadine Lifesaving Club

RESERVES: Taj Andrews (Burleigh Heads Mowbray Park SLSC), Kobi Holden (Currumbin SLSC & Elliot Heads SLSC), Noah Maggs (Newport SLSC)

Monday 6 May 2024